The skipper speaks

DSCI4137My tea has nearly been knocked over by a fairy princess ballerina waving a polar bear. Martina is sunbathing on the deck reading her book. She finished one book and has immediately started another. We ate dinner extremely early this evening, 7 o’clock! A meal of stir-fried whatever was left in the fridge, overcooked in the pressure cooker. Really tasty though*. Katie’s dinner has just been finished off by Martina, Katie having left anything that cannot be listed under the heading ‘carbohydrate’.

Today has been hot and sticky. We have been on anchor for 5 days and we have not left the boat today for the first time since I cannot remember when. Rianxo looks lovely, what we can see of it from the south, all tall trees and beautiful buildings. The beach is crowded with colourful parasols; power boats of all kinds race about, usually with a man standing up precariously at the wheel and a slim woman lounging in a bikini. If only our fridge wasn’t the hottest place on the boat, due to power considerations, I could be relaxing with a cold glass of G&T. Well I could if the only alcohol on the boat wasn’t my uncle Ian’s marrow wine.

Tomorrow morning we plan to go into the harbour here. I am quietly bricking myself because none of my sources of information seem to agree with each other. The 2000 Atlantic Spain and Portugal pilot book, the 2007 Galician pilot book, the 2014 Almanac, the paper chart, the electronic chart, the tourist leaflet from Boiro, the bloke in the chandlery in Vilagarcia and, last but not least, the tall blonde Finnish lady in a bikini shouting from her position draped across the front of a yacht as we left our last anchorage. If only I had been bothered to run the gauntlet of speedboats and parasols to recce the harbour by land I would lie easier tonight. Goodness this is a hard life!!

*Editor’s note: I didn’t force him to say it was tasty!

3 thoughts on “The skipper speaks

  1. Hi lily thank you for my postcard, I have just finished school for the summer
    And have missed u at school, I wish you would come back to year one please. My teacher is mrs Duncan next year she seems really nice. It sounds like your having fun on your boat. Love Rosie, I will write again to you. P. s I love frozen do you? Xx hello this is tania this is what Rosie wanted to write word for word! Looks like your having an amazing time.

    • Hi Rosie,
      Lily says hi. She’ll send you a postcard soon!! Hope you’re having a great summer. Tania…tried replying to your hotmail address, but for some reason I couldn’t. Do you have my hotmail address? Or are you on Facebook? You can find me on Facebook pretty easily (Martina Tyrrell, not Scott!).
      xx

Leave a Reply

