Big knickers and The Archers Omnibus

All going well, by the time you read this it will be 24 hours since I’ve had my surgery and I’ll be recovering in hospital. I’ve never had an operation before. I’ve never had an anaesthetic and apart from when I was ill as a little baby, I’ve only been in hospital twice – with glandular fever when I was seven, and when Lily was born, six and a half years ago. I remember the monumental boredom of being in hospital when I was seven. And giving birth in hospital was unexpected and unplanned, so I had no time to prepare. After 46 hours of labour (oh yes, folks!) I don’t remember much of the less than two days I spent in hospital after Lily was born.

This time, I’ve had time to prepare. I’ve little idea what I’m going to feel like after the surgery. I’m expecting pain and grogginess. I’ve been told I’ll be kept in for two or three nights. But one thing’s for sure, I’m not going to be twiddling my thumbs wishing I had something to do to pass the time.

I’ve starved myself of the last three Kermode and Mayo’s Film Review podcasts and saved them up for my hospital stay. Ditto the last three Archers Omnibuses. And I’ve downloaded the podcast of Seamus Heaney’s Desert Island Discs. I listened to it only recently but loved it so much I wanted to hear it again.

I’ve saved my two favourite radio stations onto my smart phone – BBC Radio 4 for Woman’s Hour and pretty much everything else; BBC Radio 2 for Chris Evans in the morning and Simon Mayo in the evening.

So much for listening. I’m currently reading David Guterson’s East of the Mountains and I’m unlikely to have it finished before Thursday morning. I’m also packing Cheryl Strayed’s Wild, which I’ve been saving up.

Then there’s writing. I’m on the fifth draft of my book, and chapters 16 to 30 are in need of revision (I’m not expecting to revise 15 chapters! I’ve been getting through this re-write at a rate of one chapter every two to three days). And I never go anywhere without my journal and a selection of pens, so I can write to my hearts content.

I realise I will probably indulge in few or none of these. But they will be there, if I need them, to save me from boredom.

As for the titular big knickers? When my very practical mother came to visit a few weeks ago she brought me a pack of big white knickers (size 14) which she says I will need after my operation. One of my friends suggested they could also be used as bed sheets and I thought I could fly one as a Kildare flag!! Thank you Mammy. As if having my uterus removed wasn’t unsexy enough!

4 thoughts on “Big knickers and The Archers Omnibus

  1. You will probably be sleeping a lot and be glad to do so and when you are awake you might be curious about your surroundings and fellow inmates in the ward ☺️ The two or three days of compulsory detention will fly by and you will feel stronger and and have less soreness as the days go on but you will be feeling weak which is par for the course . Laughing is problematic and excruciating apparently . Your Mother , Bridget , and I visited your Aunt Carmel the day after her hysterectomy and she ordered us out of the ward when we made her laugh as it really hurt her belly . So beware of visitors with senses of humor 😩😩 You will be grand . Try not to stress . Love etc.

    • Thanks Liz. Yes, indeed, I had to ask Julian last night not to make me laugh! I’ve been listening to lots of radio and my podcasts. Thank goodness for the Archers. Feeling ok, considering. They tried to get me out of bed earlier but I fainted. Staff are so wonderful. I want to take the night nurse home, she was so sweet! Can’t wait for the sticky toffee pudding for dessert! Xxx

Leave a Reply

