At last I have my life back

Back in March, as friends on the river were preparing to sail to distant shores, a frenzy of movie and TV series swapping took place. Friends on one boat had an almost complete collection of Disney movies on hard drive. Friends on another boat had a collection of old and new movies more to my tastes as well as a collection of TV series. Other friends also had a hard drive containing five or six complete TV series. We, rather poorly equipped, had only a DVD collection of mostly children’s movies.

As we drank beer and wine while our kids played, we discussed our movie and TV preferences. One couple sang the praises of Poldark, another the joys of Deadwood, and all were in awe of Breaking Bad. Some liked Games of Thrones, others didn’t. Although I had heard of all of these, I had never seen any of them. Soon our friends were swapping hard drives and memory sticks, downloading each other’s collections of movies and series, and it wasn’t long before I got in on the game too and soon had developed an impressive collection of movies and series.

Julian was in the UK at the time, recovering from his nose operation and, rather than reading my book as usual when the girls went to bed, I started to dip into my new collection. I tried Game of Thrones, but after about ten minutes realised it wasn’t for me. The same with Poldark. Fantasies and costume dramas just aren’t my thing.

Next I tried Breaking Bad, a series about a chemistry teacher who uses his chemistry skills to produce methamphetamine. I’d heard about it and thought I might like it. I watched the pilot episode one night, but it made me feel so tense I didn’t want to watch any more. But about three days went by and I found myself wanting to know what happened next. And so began my addiction to Breaking Bad.

I found myself watching two or three episodes a night, and sometimes even squeezing one in while the girls were having their afternoon siesta. When Julian returned from the UK he quickly discovered he had become a Breaking Bad widower. I stayed up late into the night and then couldn’t sleep when I went to bed because my heart was beating so fast and I was so tense from what I had just watched on the screen of my laptop.

Knowing Julian’s tastes, I knew Breaking Bad wouldn’t appeal to him, and the only ten minutes he has ever watched is now seared on his brain.

In the space of two months I have watched every single episode of all five seasons. Disaster almost struck when, midway through season four I discovered that two of the episodes had not downloaded properly. What was I to do? I couldn’t just skip them. Like a methamphetamine junkie, I sought out people on the river who I thought might be fellow Breaking Bad addicts. There were dead ends and false hopes, until finally, after two weeks of withdrawal, a friend gave me his hard drive and I was able to download my lost episodes.

In two months I have read little, written little and household chores have been all but abandoned! Yesterday, much to Julian’s relief, I watched the final episode. Withdrawal is going to take a little while, but I can finally get my life back!!

4 thoughts on “At last I have my life back

  1. Haha, I know how you feel. My marathon was DVDs of The Big Bang Theory and I spent a week on series 6-10 of Friends for nostalgia. I’ve only seen first ep of Breaking Bad. My brother raved about it and made me watch it when I was in the UK. I know it’s not Neils thing and I’m trying not to get “sucked” into any new series. We don’t have the TV on often during the summer but during the longer evenings I like to watch something. The Night Manager was good short BBC series that we both enjoyed.
    Gail on Gleda
    http://www.landgirlafloat.com

    • I’ve only ever done this once before, when I watched every single episode of Sex and the City in about six weeks. It was before we had kids and Julian was in Antarctica doing four months of scientific research. It was winter in England, I was living alone, and I was just as obsessed!!

  2. Hi fellow breaking bad junkie I spotted this at the library one day having never heard about it, I’d thought we’d give it a go. My husband and I worked our way through the series, having breaks in between like you say . Things needed to get done around the place. It just gets you in doesn’t . Not knowing which way things will turn out, oh the suspense. Love Jessie as an actor Oh the memories !! Happy sailing cheers Jayne

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

