Limits of my tolerance

It feels like a bad dream. Eight years ago the world watched as the US elected a president who represented hope, dignity, respect, tolerance and optimism. Two days ago it elected as president a proven xenophobe, misogynist and environmental vandal. Trump’s victory matters to us all. America’s economic and cultural dominance affects us all, no matter where we live. Here, in my little corner of rural Spain and Portugal, everyone I spoke to yesterday, expressed the same feelings. Spanish, Portuguese, British, French, Dutch, Irish – all shook their heads in disbelief, all voiced their fears, all spoke of the likelihood of war and violence during this upcoming presidency. Everyone mentioned his attitude towards Mexicans, Muslims and women, his insincerity, and his disrespectful and bullying demeanour.

What depresses me most, in the same way that I was depressed by Brexit, is that Trump’s election represents an upwelling of intolerance, and suggests that tolerant are in the minority. I strive to be tolerant in everything. But right now I’m questioning the limits of my tolerance. Can I tolerate the intolerant? Can I accept the unaccepting? And if I can’t, what can I do? What should I do?

This article I read this morning is thought provoking.

3 thoughts on “Limits of my tolerance

  1. I thought I was the only one who had these thoughts,I talked to colleagues at work as the election results came in a most people said the “best man won” thank you for confirming I hadn’t got it so wrong.

    • Jon, you are not alone. And the reaction in the US in the days after the election lifted my spirits. That people took to the streets to announce ‘Trump is not my president’. On the other hand, there are worrying reports about increases in hate crimes.

  2. Everyone we’ve spoken to here in Fiji agrees. I expected the result to be challenged at first but i would have thought it would have happened by now. Cruisers and locals alike are saddened and feel a sense of foreboding.

    Particularly the Muslim population here see America as standing alone now but one guy felt it might be good since it will reduce America’s power when he’s so easy for others to unite against.

    I don’t know but it’s very sad that so many could vote for protectionism and distrust.

Leave a Reply

